Enjoy Christmas in Barcelona – 5 great decorated places and 2 shocking traditions

Lovely Barcelona

Barcelona after Madrid is the largest city of Spain. It is really nice and impressive place. It inspires all of its visitors. During Christmas time in Barcelona tourists and locals can enjoy many Christmas attractions.

1. Great Christmas lights

There were a lot of Christmas lights in a various colors and shapes on the streets of Barcelona and the buildings.

20161202_224322

Casa Mila – one of the most famous buildings in Barcelona made by Gaudi. It has a unique architecture design.  During the Christmas time Casa Mila was decorated by shining star.

img-20161205-wa0019

Plaza Real – one of the main and beutiful squares in Barcelona with magnificient palm trees, a fountain, restaurants. It is always full of people. Plaza Real had a lot of white, soft lights, that formed unbelievable winter sky.

20161210_004908

The streets of Barcelona  were wonderful – it was like walking along the glowing corridors. I enjoyed them especially in old city of the city Barcelona and the gothic district.

20161126_203008

20161210_001618

20161205_222536

Also recommended to see was the beach area. Restaurants located in the port had many decorations – stars, angels, etc. Palms with the lights looked like no usual Christmas trees. They had a tropical, exotic style 😀

2.Interesting modern illuminations

My favorite thing were the winter balls. They looked very original. In the middle of them there were artistic compositions. The balls looked like a spectacle of lights, figures, compositions, movement and music.

20161206_224512.jpg

20161206_224548

Form of modern art you could also see the nearby church de Santa Lucia in the historical center of Barcelona. They had a silver color and rounded shape.

20161121_005327.jpg

20161121_005344

3. Christmas trees

In some places there was an opportunity to see really well decorated Christmas trees. Maybe they were not as original as in Madrid, but still looked great !

img-20161204-wa0002

4. Let’s enjoy street markets

Another attraction in Barcelona are street Christmas markets. There you can buy Christmas trees, decorations, gifts etc. Interesting markets were:

  • near the La Sagrada Famila – a very well-known and spectacular cathedral made by Gaudi;
  • Fira de Santa Lucia – close to the old well-known church;
  • La Rambla  Street – one of the most famous streets in Barcelona.

20161121_005710.jpg

img-20161204-wa0003

5. Glowing shopping centers

Also shopping centers were incredible decorated on the outside and inside.

Here you can see pictures of:

  • El Corte Ingles close to Plaza Catalunya – main, a very famous Spanish shopping mall;
  • Diagonal Mar el Centro Comerial – located near the beach in the modern part of Barcelona;
  • Centro Comercial Arenas de Barcelona – building in shape of bullring; this shopping center has a great tarrace overlooking the  Plaza de Espana (spectacular square of Barcelona).

img-20161205-wa0030

20161210_195936

20161210_200800

untitled-6

20161209_184910.jpg

Shopping centers also organized also children’s shows- meetings with Santa Claus.

20161209_185654

Strange Catalan Christmas traditions

With Christmas period are related of time  are connected also two funny Catalan traditions (Barcelona is situated in the region of Spain Catalonia):

1. Tio de Nadal – wooden figures with Santa Claus caps. In period before Christmas, the children care about him – fed and heat. In the Christmas time kids sing a special song and hit Tio de Nadal. Tio de Nadal aims pooping gifts for them;

untitssled-6

2. Caganer – figures of people in intimate, toilet situation. You can buy them in the markets, buildings of street markets and native scenes in the Catalan region. Kids in Catalonia have fun trying find Caganers hidden among other native figures. Caganers are the symbols of good luck.

20161210_002135

In the street markets they are sell everywhere figures of Tio de Natal and Caganer.

IMG-20161204-WA0000.jpg

img-20161204-wa0004

Many photos published in that article are made by: Jesus Ibañez Bondzio

34 thoughts on “Enjoy Christmas in Barcelona – 5 great decorated places and 2 shocking traditions

      1. I am really glad that you enjoy that article 🙂 I am even more happy of that, as you are Catalan and it is you region 😀 I invite to follow my blog -I am going to publish more about Spain – also about Barcelona 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. So great that I could share with you my positive emotion from my stay in Barcelona. It is amazing that another people can feel, what I felt during my travel. Thank you for your nice comment.

      Like

      1. Thank you a lot again 🙂 It’s so nice. I hope I can share more interesting experiences with followers. I wish that blog will be helpfull for people who are planning their trips.

        Like

  1. It is interesting how the city changes during the year 🙂 I have seen some of these places in Barcelona during summer, but it may be a nice experience to see it in winter! Is it cold there? 🙂 (I am currently on Erasmus in Crete, Heraklion, and we had snow down there near the sea at the beginning of 2017! :D)

    Like

    1. I haven’t seen Barcelona during the summer, but I would like to. It should be spectacular; and you can take sunbaths and swim in the sea. 🙂 In the winter , especially Christmas time big cities are amazing with all lights, decorations, Christmas trees. There is no so cold in Barcelona (there is even better in winter than f. ex. Madrid). Of course you have to use winter jacket outside, especially in the night. But also there are sunny days when you can walk in the streets just in light jacket. I haven’t seen yet snow in Spain. I know that in the mountains or in north of Spain there is snowing. But in Madrid -where I am living – you couldn’t see snow at all :O Crete – WOW that’s sounds great ! Is it Crete in real as much beautiful as in the photos? I hope you enjoy it. I didn’t know hat winters are so cold there – you surprised me…

      Like

      1. Thank you for your reply! 🙂

        Well, Crete really IS beautiful, especially the beaches in the western part near the city called Chania; and also the mountains are incredible 🙂
        And the winter here… people say, that this winter is the worst in 13 years – it was snowing not only in the mountains but also on the northern coastline where all big cities are situated. The snow lasted for only 1-2 days, but people were excited! 😀 However, it only rains during an average winter near the sea and snow is on the top of the mountains. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. For sure are amazing !
        Ohhh.. I had situation like that also. I’ve arrived to Madrid in April – it was raining near whole month; and was quite cold. People told me that this is no usually.
        So citizens there enjoyed snow a lot ! Probably it is something no typical.
        Wish you many happy moments durying your stay there! Enjoy ! 🙂

        Like

  2. I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and
    reporting! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve included
    you guys to our blogroll.

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing your experience in Barcelona. I have never been there. Again your photos were great but I truly love your writing. It is fresh, informative and your voice gives it the feel that I am seeing it with a fellow traveler whom I just met at a hostel. Keep up the fine work and have fun. Brick

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brick, I am happy that I could share that experiences. I hope some of suggestions will be usufull for people who wants to travel to Barcelona 😀 Many of the included photos are mady by Jesus from our Catalunia’s trip. 🙂 Again thank you for nice words – I am glad that you enjoy structure of the posts. I will try my best for articles sounds as ”story tellings” for friends. Wish you also all best – many great travels and sucesfull development of your blog. Beata

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Outside Barcelona is amazing ! I think the best places are outside 🙂 I guess you mean Foutain – Fuente Magica which is close to Plaza de Espana ( it is the most spectacular fountain show with water, colour and musicI’ve ever seen).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment