6 facts from Festival of Lights in Madrid – you had never heard of them

An easy way to discover interesting event

I’ve never heard of such a festival. I was pleasantly surprised by the possibility to participate in it. I saw on Facebook invitation and I decided to check it out ! It was a great decision.

1. What is Pasacalles de Luz?

It is celebration of the day, when winter begin – 21 of December. As from this date the days begin to be longer. For this reason, increasing the duration of daylight is really impressive celebrated. This is a huge spectacle of luz (in Spanish language light) with lanterns, glowing decorations and compositions, candles, artificial fires; etc.

11

2. Is the venue attactive?

Of course ! Even very much ! It is situated in a perfect setting with wonderful views.

  • Parque Madrid Rio – in this park event took place. This is  really famous park. It is located on both sides of the most important rivers in Madrid – Manzanarez. The park is really long – you can walk many kilometers through it.  A few years ago, it has been modernized and now there are a magnificent complex of nature, places for sports, playgrounds, etc. In Parque Madrid Rio you can see a lot of bridges – they are all amazing.
  • Puente del Rey (The Royal Bridge)- this is the bridge where the main part of the ceremony took place. It was constructed in the XIX century  to connect the Royal Palace with Casa de Campo (the largest park in Madrid with a wonderful lake). Currently in Casa de Campo there are an amusement park, the Parque de Atracciones de Madrid and the ZOO.
    In addition, next to the Puente Real you can see large open space – ideal for organizing eventssuch as the Festival of Lights.
  • Palacio Real – Real Palace of Madrid. From the bridge Puente del Real you have a view of a magnificent, huge, white Royal Palace. At night it looks spectacular – and during the event – with glowing lanterns flying in the sky – it was better than usual !!!

7

10

3. How ceremony of releasing lanterns looks like?

At the Festival of Lights there are many people with their own made lanterns. Lanterns have many, different shapes – round, square, heart -shaped. Latterns can bring everybody. On the official websites there are provided guides how to made them to be correct and safe.

When you participate in the event for many hours you can admire how people lit and lanterns and let them go in the air. Black sky looks wonderful and spectacular interwoven yellow, white and red colours of laterns.

4. Which shiny decorations you can see?

In the area of Puerte del Rey gathered represantives of various organizations with their own glowing things. You could also enjoy the specially prepared decorations.

  • glowing, colorful insects;
  • house made of bamboo, which had sky with lights;
  • a group of people with huge candles;
  • great green lights on the large great -looking restaurant bulding Cafe del Rio.

3

5. Is firework display good?

Absolutely ! It was the most wonderful articial fires show I’ve ever seen. Show lasted quite long (about 20 – 30 minuts), and contained fireworks in different shapes, colors and compositions. I could not take my eyes off this wonderful art.

12.jpg

ab.jpg

3a

6. Are there a lot of people?

Yes! There are hundreds of people,  even thousands ! You can see whole families, groups of friends, tourists. Many people brought lights and candles in decorated jars. They all  had fun – releasing lanterns, admiring the lights and fireworks, visiting the bamboo house, taking pictures, recording videos, etc.

1

28 thoughts on “6 facts from Festival of Lights in Madrid – you had never heard of them

  1. Thank you for another fascinating post -and those photographs are wonderful. Can I ask: are those photographs taken with a dedicated camera, or a cellphone camera? (I guess I would not have thought a cellphone camera could have caught fireworks like that.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are welcome and I am glad that you enjoy my blog! Unfortunatelly I do not have camera, so photos are made by cell phone. Then I’ve improved them little bit in computer edition programme. I try my best for imagines look quite OK.

      Like

      1. Well, I have begun to realize some cell phones take better photos than others do – and you also have a good eye for framing the photos. Thanks for sharing them with us.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My smartfon it isn’t even the best one – but as I said – I try my best! 🙂 Thank you a lot again for your nice words! 😀 I am glad that I could publish content, which is interesting for my followers. 😀 Hope I will create more posts, which inspire others.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You have a talent for finding unusual travel topics. I’d never heard of this. I’ve always celebrated the idea of days becoming longer again in December, but connected to the Northern European tradition of Saint Lucy on the 13th – and my scientific friends always make fun of me, saying the real date should be December 21. So this year I’ll tune in to the Pasacalles 🙂 Thanks for the information!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Bea ! I try my best to find some unusual topic 🙂 For me Festival of the Lights was something new, because in date we do not have any celebration in Poland (we have just celebration in first day of the spring : drown or burn Marzanna – special prepared doll – symbol of final of the winter, which is really cold season). I’ve never hear about Saint Lucy day – I am going to read ! 🙂 Thank you for information.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

  4. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Bless you!

    Like

  5. Hello there, I found your website by way of Google at the same time as looking for a comparable subject, your
    web site got here up, it seems good. I’ve bookmarked
    it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just became alert to your blog thru Google, and
    located that it is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate if you happen to continue this in future.
    A lot of other people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    Like

    1. Kristal, I am really glad that my blog make in you such possitive impression and that reading my posts made your time enjoyable 🙂 I hope I can create in the future even more articles in which you will be interested 😀 Cheers !

      Like

  6. I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly let me know so that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

    Like

    1. Jim, thank you for your nice comment. I am glad that you enjoy my blog and that you want to follow it. Users of WordPress has option of follow WordPress blogs. I don´t know if I can add somewhere option follow blog also for no users of Wordpres. I am going to check it out ! Thank you for you suggestion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

